Day 48 – Pencil me in

I distinctly remember buying my first pencil skirt. The when is a bit fuzzy, but the where, the why, and the who are clear. I was at American Apparel with Dana, and it was one of those glorious summer days in Montreal that just makes you want to shop. (I’m mildly embarrassed to admit that, but I don’t doubt that any woman reading this who’s ever lived in Montreal knows exactly what I’m talking about). I think I was about to graduate, and was preparing myself for the glamourous grown-up life that was sure to begin. Clearly, a pencil skirt was required. Not wanting to be too adult (I was but a tender 22 at the time), I shunned the blacks and browns and went for a hot fuchsia (“raspberry” in AA-speak).

I adore pencil skirts because they highlight (what I like to think are) my best features, and downplay (what I’m pretty sure are) my flaws. I’m pretty straight through the waist and don’t have much in the way of curves, but I’ve got what you might call “a butt that won’t quit.” Which is a nice way of saying I’ve got ass for weeks. So pencil skirts do a little optical illusion to create the waistline I don’t have, and have a great wha-BAM effect on the bum. Come to think of it, I can’t think of a ladyfriend I know who doesn’t look drop-dead sexy in a pencil skirt.

Here’s the problem with them – or the American Apparel versions, to be specific. They sell for about $40, when in fact they use about 6 bucks worth of fabric (depending on where you shop). They are also deathly simple to put together – it’s a band, a longer piece of fabric, and the front and back are exactly the same. The AA versions aren’t even hemmed! Sacrilege! As my seamstress powers have grown, so too have my ambitions. And thusly, as my Forty-Eighth Official Act of Happiness, I took matters into my own hands and crafted two saucy pencil skirts.

Again, as I had no pattern, I had to “go rogue, ” and used my now-faded-but-still-wearable original pencil skirt as a model. But since these are basically the simplest skirts you could ever care to put together, I don’t know if a proper pattern would make much difference. I made a basic black, which was just a tad too small and will soon be foisted on a slimmer friend, and a wonderfully stretchy navy with little white polka dots. (alas, my iPhone  will not do them justice, so I’ll be sure to post a photo as soon as a proper shoot can be arranged). I made them each just a bit longer and just a bit higher, so they go from the bottom of the bra line to just just just above the knee. And mine have hems, goddamit! Because I’m not some sort of hemless heathen! For fuck’s sake, American Apparel!

Also, unlike the model pictured above, I’m fond of wearing mine with a shirt of some sort.

In slightly more than two hours, with slightly less than $10 worth of fabric, and slightly more wine than one should have while operating such dangerous machinery as a sewing machine, I put together two lovely skirts that are gorgeous, comfortable, and mine and mine alone.

Alright. Thanks for bearing with all the sewing talk. I promise, no more until day 55.

3 Responses to “Day 48 – Pencil me in”


  1. 1 Tara 09/04/2010 at 9:28 am

    I love the sewing talk. It inspires me to get CRAFTY!

  2. 2 Julie 14/04/2010 at 1:26 am

    I want it to be my birthday so you send me gluten free pencil skirts in the mail. ❤


  1. 1 Day 60 – MYOPS! (Make Your Own Pencil Skirt!) « 100 Days of Happy Trackback on 16/04/2010 at 3:06 am

Leave a comment




My Etsy Store

Join 8 other subscribers

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 32,997 hits